This charming and historic cemetery located on East 2nd Street in downtown Frederick, MD. It is protected from the daily hustle and bustle by tall stone walls. The cemetery was first used in 1832, but officially established 1845 and is still being used today. It is the burial ground for St. John the Evangelist Roman Catholic Church. Many of the graves were relocated from the Novitiate Cemetery as well as the old Jesuit Graveyard, when the Jesuits left Frederick.
Among some of the interred are early Jesuit priests, Justice Roger B. Taney, politicians, soldiers and Father John DuBois, founder of Mt. St. Mary’s College.